Posted by: Dawn | October 21, 2011

The Pink Parade

Being and new mom of a daughter and working with young girls, I’ve recently been consumed with books, articles, documentaries, poems, websites, organizations, and discussions about how to raise strong girls in the world we currently live in.  One hot topic is that of the Disney Princess Syndrome.  Also on the table is the bombardment of pink, sparkles, frilly dresses, baby dolls, and other things that come with raising a girl.  

Before my daughter was born, when I was more about ideas of motherhood than actual practice, I swore that there would be no pink, that everything would be gender-neutral, and that only strong females (real or imaginary) would be role models for my daughter.  But then I had a baby girl and the pink parade began.  Pink dresses and hats, pink blankets, pink socks, and tiny little shoes with pink bows.  Most of the clothing came from others – and what could I do about that?  I did return a few items, but others I just could not resist.  Dressing my little girl in pink became a natural thing for me.  But so did dressing her in blue, green, yellow, and all other colors of the rainbow.  Pink is just a color, after all, not an anti-feminist statement! 

It seems my ideas about raising a daughter have quickly changed, even after only four months of motherhood!  What’s the big deal?  I find myself saying.  What’s wrong with a little pink?  A princess here and there?  And traditional “girl” toys (dolls, kitchen supplies, and other girly things)?  I admit, I myself have purchased a pink item of clothing or two.  I bought the first baby doll (who is wearing a pink dress and ballerina slippers!).  And I look forward to the day when my daughter and I can watch some of my favorite Disney movies together, including those with princesses!  It’s fun.  It’s cute.  It’s not who I ever was or want to be, but I don’t think it would bother me if my daughter gravitated toward these things. 

I’ll give my daughter options – she can play house and dress-up, and she can also ride a bike and climb trees.  She can read books and make art, and she can also build with blocks or race matchbox cars.  She can wear pink dresses with sparkles, and she can also wear blue jeans and sneakers.  She can be who she wants to be.    

I don’t see the problem if my little girl wants to wear pink, dress up like a princess, take ballet, or play “house” (ie. cooking, cleaning, and mothering).  I want her to be who she wants to be; not who I was or wish I could be.  I want her to discover for herself what her interests are – even if they are dance class, sparkly shoes, and princesses!

I can offer her all the gender-neutral clothes and toys and she may still find a way to princesses and pink.  Sometimes those things are just irresistible to little girls.  It’s not about the clothes or the toys, anyway.  It’s about the ideas behind them.  If she thinks princesses are weak and always need saving then perhaps she’ll have a skewed idea about women.  But if she has strong female role models like her mother and other women, hopefully she’ll see the difference between fantasy and reality and model herself after real women.

So I’ll let the pink parade continue for now.  When my daughter is old enough to choose her own clothing, maybe she’ll dress differently, maybe not.  Right now, though she’s just precious in her little pink (and purple, and green, and yellow…) outfits.  She’s adorable when she holds and squeezes her little baby doll.  And I just can’t wait to introduce her to Disney – princesses and all!


Leave a comment

Categories