Posted by: Dawn | June 17, 2010

Getting Back in Touch

I’ve been busy.  I’ve been writing my thesis (now finished!), planning my wedding, creating and facilitating workshops, and fulfilling other obligations while also trying to live a life beyond work.  I’ve been out of touch – with this blog, with some close friends and family, with myself, and with my body.  I’ve been disconnected.

But in the last week things have been beginning to change.  As I mentioned, my thesis is finished, turned in, and (hopefully momentarily) on its way to binding.  The workshops I’ve been creating and facilitating have been running smoothly and successfully.  The wedding planning…well, that’s still a big one.  But most importantly – and the reason for this shift in consciousness lately – is that I’ve been getting more in touch with myself and my body lately. 

Last weekend I had the opportunity to attend a Yoga and Writing class at Women Writing for (a) Change (www.womenwriting.org), facilitated by writer and yoga instructor, Suellen Hugan.  I love yoga – wish I did it more – but it has been a while since I have maintained a yoga practice.  This class with Suellen sparked my interest in yoga once again.  The class combined the physical (and mindful) yoga practice with the emotional (and mindful) writing practice.  Weaving together the body/mind benefits of each, participants were treated to two and a half hours of self-care, reflection, gentle postures, and self-expression.  I had forgotten how beneficial yoga can be for state of mind and body.  After the class I felt rejuvenated, refreshed, happy, and light.  I vowed that day (in writing) to introduce a yoga practice back into my life.  I also vowed to get back in touch with my writing practice, which has waned recently.

Another experience from last week that is responsible for this shift is that I joined Curves once again after a hiatus of some time.  I was a devoted member of Curves from 2005-2008, even transferring memberships when I moved from New Jersey to Ohio, then to Indiana.  But finances, time, and determination waned and I let my membership expire, not renewing when the time came.  But, in planning for the wedding and wanting to get back in shape, I decided to join Curves just for the three months leading up to the wedding.  It was probably the best decision I could have made.  I wish I had done it earlier.  I’ve been to Curves every day since I have joined (except the weekend) and plan to continue 5 days a week until the wedding.  I feel great!  I feel motivated and refreshed.  I feel inspired and not so weighed down by stress, obligation, emotion, and especially weight.  After losing over 80 pounds a few years ago, I know what my body is capable of, and for the last year I have not been treating my body well or using it to its advantage.  Like I said, I’ve been disconnected.  It is wonderful to get re-connected!

Yet another experience that has inspired me was a True Body Project (www.truebodyproject.org) workshop I attended last night at Women Writing for (a) Change.  The two organizations, discussing a partnership, came together last night to let some of the members of Young Women Writing for (a) Change experience what a partnership might look and feel like.  Led by Stacy Simms from TBP, we came together as a community and participated in gentle Pilates movements, wrote and shared together, and discussed the experience.  Learning to weave movement together with the writing experience has been an eye-opener for me.  I have always valued the two as separate practices (writing the more focal practice in my life).  But when I, with guidance, allowed the two to come together, a whole new practice emerged. 

I have a lot more to explore in the link between writing and movement, first as it relates to myself and my body, and then with others in my writing classes.  But I am intrigued, my interest is sparked, I’m sold, even, on the benefits and power of the link.  Being able to get in touch with myself through writing, and with my body through movement has helped to create a balance in my life that I have been lacking for a while.  And though I have just begun this exploration, I am already feeling its effects. 

There will be more to come on this topic as I explore it further.  But right now it is enough to know that I am getting back in touch.


Leave a comment

Categories